Credentials—CRT and RRT

Respiratory Therapist Credentials: CRT and RRT

There are two principal credentials for respiratory therapists: the Certified Respiratory Therapist (CRT) and the Registered Respiratory Therapist (RRT).

Certified Respiratory Therapists (CRTs)

Respiratory therapists are required to be a graduate and be awarded an associate degree, bachelor’s degree, or master’s degree from a respiratory therapy education program supported or accredited by the Commission on Accreditation for Respiratory Care (CoARC). Upon graduation they are eligible to challenge the Therapist Multiple-Choice (TMC) Examination. There are two cut scores for the TMC Examination. If a candidate achieves the low-cut score, they will earn the Certified Respiratory Therapist (CRT) credential. If a candidate achieves the high cut score, they will earn the CRT credential AND become eligible for the Clinical Simulation Examination (provided the candidate is eligible to earn the RRT credential).

Registered Respiratory Therapists (RRTs)

Once the respiratory therapist has earned the CRT credential and meets the Clinical Simulation (CSE) Examination eligibility requirements, they are eligible to challenge the CSE. The Registered Respiratory Therapist (RRT) credential is awarded to candidates who pass the TMC and CSE. The RRT credential is nationally recognized as the “standard of excellence” for respiratory care professionals.

For more information about obtaining these credentials and NBRC’s specialty credentials, visit the National Board for Respiratory Care.

Heading to the New Era

Elevate | Engage | Advocate | Educate